Sydney: Boost, Bunyips and Butterfly Farm

29-30th December, 2012

After Marulan track day we were all exhausted from the drive back. It was decided that the best form of relaxation was to go karting at Revesby.

The karts here are already awesome as they are two speed and postie bike powered, but things are going to get a whole lot more awesome as they are in the process of building a second level.

That’s right, MULTI LEVEL GO KARTS! Shit just got real.

IMG_4692 (Small)

Honestly, who is going to be studying the racing line when it’s above ice cream?!

IMG_4694 (Small)

I’d been here once before but I’m pretty sure they didn’t have records stuck up on the wall back then.

I managed to get my name up next to Benny’s for the month of December with a time of 24.01. I was told that any time in the 23’s was considered pretty fast so I was a bit annoyed that I had just missed out.

IMG_4695 (Small)

The next day Pete and I head out to pick up some parts for his car. He’s also acquired some new rims since the last time I was there. The Enkei 92’s look awesome despite the lift kit which was also installed in my absence.

IMG_4704 (Small)

That night, Mr Lor had organised dinner and a drive. After recently returning to Sydney to live, it was his turn to play the role of the gracious host.

When in Rome, do as the Romans do. When in Cabra, go hang at HJ’s.

IMG_4711 (Small)

John demonstrating that VTEC is actually faster if you push! 😛

IMG_4706 (Small)

I first met Wil at Wakefield in 2009 after being a total creep and hovering around his awesome little cappa. My god, I love this thing.

IMG_4722 (Small)

Thanks to John for organising and letting me experience VTEC kicking in!

The next day we’re up early to head to Wilberforce to head to Indykarts @ Butterfly Farm.

Jorg’s charmingly ghetto K11 Micra is a new addition to the outstandingly mediocre crew. Let me assure you that it does an very good job of being extremely average thanks to the questionable choice of modifications performed by the last owner!

IMG_4728 (Small)

This is the first time most of us had been karting here and it’s an extremely fun outdoor track with a great variety of corners. Unfortunately, they don’t offer timing and my Race Chrono didn’t work without the GPS receiver.

IMG_4734 (Small)

IMG_4731 (Small)

Sydney has a lot to offer for tourists like me. Bunyip hunting is a great hit with the out of towners.
Note: THAT IS NOT A MASK.

IMG_4737 (Small)

Over lunch it was decided that it would be a fantastic idea to go back to back go karting. I was pretty keen on cracking into the 23’s, so we headed back to Revesby.

IMG_4735 (Small)

Why hello again!

IMG_4739 (Small)

IMG_4740 (Small)

I had the guys give me some pointers and managed to bust out a 23.5 to beat the December time which I had put up two days earlier.

IMG_4743 (Small)

Hooray!

534174_10151445556755809_1123563627_n (Small)

Leave a comment