Winton open practice day.

So the plan was to head up to Winton on Saturday to catch up with some of the Subaru kids when I heard that the Micra/Honda kids were heading up on Friday.

I shuffled some things around on Thursday arvo and managed to ditch work on Friday to head up with the boys. It’ll be fine, I’ll just go spectate, it’ll be fun…

So at 4:30, I awaken the beast and head out to go meet up with USDM Steve and Cheezel.

We leave the starlet at Cheezel’s house and head out to Macca’s to meet up with the rest of the guys at 6am. The aim is to get to Winton early to claim a bay as we anticipate there are going to be quite a few cars there.

It’s Cheezel’s first track day so he’s pretty happy! Nothing to stress about because his track day arsenal includes 5 oil filters. Emergency oil change? He is all over it.

My chariot of fire for the day was the lovely red Micra, Paddington. About 20 mins into our trip Tom and I had managed to spill our drinks on ourselves from bumps in the road that I’m pretty sure didn’t exist. Who needs suspension travel anyway?

We nerd rock out to some Weezer on the cd player until a new noise starts making it’s way into the cabin. I think it’s normal 20 year old micra stuff until Tom looks at me funny. We stop to pull over and I get out and try to check out the rear suspension, that was until I realised that you can’t see anything cos the body of the car is pretty much on the ground haha.

It turned out to be nothing so we keep going and make our way to the obligatory 98RON Shell stop in Benalla.

We get to Winton and we notice there aren’t many cars around. Hrmm that’s strange normally it’s buzzing by now…

The Subaru kids show up and a few HQ’s but we soon realise NO ONE ELSE IS COMING! Sh!t, F**K! WHY DIDN’T I BRING MY CAR? After doing some maths and realising it wasn’t going to be practical to go back to Melbourne and get the 5, I resign myself to eating stolen chocolate and getting sunburnt for the rest of the day. Let that be a lesson to you all, never go to a track day without your car just in case you need to join the track day at the last minute! 😛

Here’s Pete from Sydney getting ready for his first outing in his WRX co-owned with Dane. I’ve known Pete for 10 years now and we’ve shared a lot of hilarity and misfortune with our cars. We often joke about the bad luck we have when we attend track days together…


It turns out that our joke isn’t that funny any more because the car gods decided to be jerks again and the car retires early from the day. Mega sadface.

Marty brings me free candy!

Fact: dudes that drive fast wagons are way cooler than dudes that don’t drive fast wagons. True story.

Here’s Tian reading his horoscope in his tyre wear.

The ghetto exhaust they fitted they day before sounds lovely on the track, but then again all 350’s with exhausts sound awesome.

Jas and I notice that this 34 GTR only goes out for 2 laps. We nod our heads knowingly.

Tom and I also observe how easy it is to take photos of the Micra, and then we realise it’s because we have so much time. Straight line acceleration was never a key feature of the k11.

As you can imagine, shit was lost when I saw a little ep91 starlet sneak out on to the track! Brings a tear to my eye. Ahh, just like the old days!

Eagle eyed viewers will spot the 5 stud conversion.

But you didn’t have to be that observant to spot the massive fmic and hear how loud this thing was. V.cool.

Meanwhile, Hodgey’s track wrx is getting plenty of good lap time in.

I started taking photo’s with Pete’s camera after this so that’s all I have but before we know it, it’s time to go home. Cheezel is exhausted so I offer to drive the Micra. I’m pretty happy about this arrangement. RPF1’s ftw.

Leave a comment